Happy birthday to me!

It was my birthday very recently and I got a little bit of money so I decided to treat myself to some yarn. I won’t lie. My husband struggled to understand why I would want to spend my birthday money on yarn when I already have enough for quite a few projects. When I pointed out that last year my birthday money ended up being used to pay for singing classes for our oldest and that this year I’d like to spend it on something that I’d enjoy, eventually *cough*, he got my point.

So I’m sure you want to know what I got. Well, I bought some Drops Loves You 9 recycled cotton for two projects. Drops Loves You 9 was recently released by Drops. It’s only 80 cent for a 50 g ball which contains 125m. BARGAIN!!

Firstly, I picked out purple (112) and dark grey (104) to make a top for myself. I want to make myself a Double-Take Tee. It’s a free pattern available on Ravelry for a top that can be worn with both sides facing the front – so two tops in one if you will!

I was really tempted to pick the navy and mustard to make the top. I love mustard but it just doesn’t love me. It just doesn’t look right next to my face. I thought that using it in the Double-Take Tee would be a good way to get to use a colour I love in a garment, without it being next to my face. I ultimately settled on the grey and purple because I realised that I could wear it with both black and blue jeans, making it a bit more practical than the navy and mustard option that I would only wear one way.

For the other project I picked up six different colours to use to make a blanket for my bed. Three shades of grey (102, 103 and 104), coral (108), storm blue (114) and frosty green (118).

I’ve been toying with the idea for ages but it was going to cost a lot of money to buy enough yarn to make a double bedspread. When the Drops Loves You came into the shop I decided to investigate how much I would need of a 4 ply yarn to make a bedspread. I’m happy to use a cotton because I’m planning on using the blanket for decoration rather than heat.

Initially I when I started toying with this idea I wanted to make a striped blanket, perhaps using the Attic 24 Neat Ripple pattern. I’ve now gone completely off that idea as I realised that the project would not be portable if I went down this path. Plus, the thoughts of doing those long stripes for a double bed in a 4 ply yarn did NOT appeal.

Now I’m planning on making a square blanket. Or maybe hexagons. Hmmm…as you can tell I haven’t really made up my mind yet. I won’t be starting the project until towards the end of the year so fortunately I have plenty of time to think about it and figure out exactly what I want to do.

Have you made a bedspread? What pattern did you use?

 

Leave a comment